Biology Department

Biology department was established in Sulaimaniyah 1968. At the beginning it composed of two branches, from third year, Botany and Zoology. Since 1994, branches were converted to General Biology and Microbiology; but in (1999) these two branches were emerged into one branch. In 1976 postgraduate studies was established by opening Master of Science in Microbiology, Animal Physiology, Plant Pathology and Ecology.

The biology Department is a four-year study that awards a Bachelor of Science in Biology. Students learn through a combination of lecture, laboratory and seminar courses. Required core courses in the sciences include all fields of Microbiology, Medical Microbiology, Biochemistry and other Life Science courses: Genetics, Cell Biology, Molecular Biology, Physiology, Zoology and Botany.

The Department of Biology is committed to educate students in the principles of biology through structured inquiry and opportunities for individualized experiential learning. It is also committed to teaching ethical behavior in experimental design and practice to all of our students. The department’s instructional program is one of the most diverse and active at the University of Salahaddin of Science and Health. Upon finishing, the graduates pursue careers in research or health care or the academia.

Our graduates should be able to work at different sectors of community, especially in medical laboratory hospitals (both in diagnostic and research laboratories) as well as vaccination units and biotechnology. Our graduates are also well qualified to work at quality control centers (for analyzing different agents such as; water, food, and drugs), control and prevention of endemic and infectious diseases.

fikry_1

Personal details:

Name: Dr. Fikry Ali Qadir

Degree: Ph.D.

Scientific title: Asst. Prof.

Specific Specialization: Immunology

Official e. mail: fikry.qadir@su.edu.krd

Personal e. mail: fikrybio@gmail.com

Date of Birth        01-06-1975 –   Erbil

Date of First appointment: 10/10/1998

Education

1994-1998                   B.Sc in Biology

Department of Biology / College of Science/ University of Salahaddin

2000–2003                  M.Sc. in Food Microbiology

Department of Biology / College of Science/ University of Salahaddin

2003–till now              Lecturer in Department of Biology

2005–2009                  Ph.D. in Immunology

Department of Biology / College of Science/ University of Salahaddin

No. Name Scientific Title Specialization Email
1 Dr. Fikry Ali Qadir Assistant Professor Immunology fikry.qadir@su.edu.krd
2 Dr. Almas Mohammed Rashed Mahmod Professor  Endocrine physiology almas.mahmud@su.edu.krd
3 Dr. Falah Mohammed Aziz Professor  Cell biology falah.aziz@su.edu.krd
4 Dr. Fraidoon Abdulqadr Salih Assistant Professor  Medical bacteriology fraidoon.salih@su.edu.krd
5 Dr. Abdul-Ghnay Omer Ismaeel Assistant Professor  Plant physiology abdulghany.ismaeel.@su.edu.krd
6 Dr. Dilshad Ganjo Ahmed Assistant Professor  Limnology
7 Dr. Narmen Rafik Hamad Assistant Professor  Parasitology
8 Dr. Bushra Karim Mohammed Amin Assistant Professor  Biotechnology bushra.amin@su.edu.krd
9 Dr. Bahaddin Salih Hamed Assistant Professor  Soil microbiology bahaddin.hamed@su.edu.krd
10 Dr. Ismail Mustafa Mawlood Assistant Professor  Animal physiology ismail.maulood@su.edu.krd
11 Dr. Edrees Mohammed Ameen Assistant Professor  Animal physiology edrees.ameen@su.edu.krd
12 Dr. Sarbaz Ibrahem Mohammed Assistant Professor  Hematology sarbaz.mohammed@su.edu.krd
13 Dr. Shireen Abdulkarim Amin Assistant Professor  Plant physiology shireen.amin@su.edu.krd
14 Dr. Lana Sardar Salih Assistant Professor  Embryology lana.alalem@su.edu.krd
15 Dr. Hero Mohammed Ismael Assistant Professor  Mycology hero.ismael@su.edu.krd
16 Dr. Sherwan Taeb Ahmed Assistant Professor  Invertebrate Zoology sherwan.ahmed@su.edu.krd
17 Dr. Abdulkarim Yaseen Karim Assistant Professor  Biotechnology abdulkarim.karim@su.edu.krd
18 Dr. Taban Kamal Rasheed Assistant Professor  Immunology taban.rasheed@su.edu.krd
19 Dr. Mudhir Sabir Shekha Assistant Professor  Animal physiology mudhir.shekha@su.edu.krd
20 Dr. Chnar Najmaalden Fathulla Assistant Professor  Plant Anatomy chnar.fathulla@su.edu.krd
21 Dana Faeq Hoshyar Assistant Professor  Food microbiology dana.mustafa@su.edu.krd
22 Jamal Mohammed Aziz Assistant Professor  Mammalian physiology jamal.aziz@su.edu.krd
23 Inaam Ahmed Mustafa Assistant Professor  Histology & Embryology inaam.mustafa@su.edu.krd
24 Fareed Matti Toma Assistant Professor  Mycology fareed.toma@su.edu.krd
25 Pakhshan Mustafa Maulood Assistant Professor  Plant physiology pakhshan.maulood@su.edu.krd
26 Daristan Jamal Ghareb Assistant Professor  Medical bacteriology daristan.ghareb@su.edu.krd
27 Rezan Kamal Ahmed Assistant Professor  Parasitology rezan.ahmed@su.edu.krd
28 Akhter Ahmed Ahmed Assistant Professor  Medical bacteriology akhter.ahmed@su.edu.krd
29 Hana Hashm Mohammed Assistant Professor  Entomology hana.shekho@su.edu.krd
30 Qaraman Mam Khidr Ahmed Assistant Professor  Parasitology qaraman.koyee@su.edu.krd
31 Dr. Yaseen Ahmed Rasheed Lecturer Plant physiology yaseen.goran@su.edu.krd
32 Dr. Ardalan Ahmed Sulayman Lecturer  Plant tissue culture ardalan.sulayman@su.edu.krd
33 Dr. Sarkawt Hussen Muhammed Lecturer  Entomology sarkaut.muhammed@su.edu.krd
34 Dr. Ari Qadir Nabi Lecturer  Molecular Microbiology ari.nabi@su.edu.krd
35 Dr. Abbas Burhan Qadir Lecturer  Animal physiology abbas.salihi@su.edu.krd
36 Dr. Kareem Khoshnaw Hamad Lecturer  Parasitology kareem.hamad@su.edu.krd
37 Dr. Dimen Aula Aumer Lecturer  Molecular Microbiology dimen.aumer@su.edu.krd
38 Dr. Dara Khorshed Mohammed Lecturer  Cell biology
39 Dr. Treska Salih Hassan Lecturer  Parasitology
40 Dr. Zana Rafeq Majeed Lecturer  Animal physiology
41 Dr. Hedi Ahmed Hassan Lecturer  Public Health
42 Rezan Aziz Mustafa Lecturer  Entomology rezan.mustafa@su.edu.krd
43 Yadi Omer Mustafa Lecturer  Phycology yadi.mustafa@su.edu.krd
44 Sawar Ibraheem Maulood Lecturer  Organic chemistry sawar.maulood@su.edu.krd
45 Musa Ibrahim Taha Lecturer  Mycology musa.taha@su.edu.krd
46 Firas Khalid Qasim Lecturer  Animal physiology firas.qasim@su.edu.krd
47 Badr Qadr Ismael Lecturer  Plant physiology badr.surchi@su.edu.krd
48 Pakhshan Abdulla Hassan Lecturer  Medical bacteriology pakhshan.hassan@su.edu.krd
49 Nareen Qadir Faqi Lecturer  Mycology nareen.faqi@su.edu.krd
50 Sayran Ahmed MohammedAmin Lecturer  Microbiology
51 Mohammed Ali Saleem Lecturer  Genetics mohammed.saleem@su.edu.krd
52 Abdulilah Saleh Ismaeil Lecturer  Food microbiology abdulilah.ismaeil@su.edu.krd
53 Hawzheen Karim Othman Lecturer  Animal physiology hawzheen.othman@su.edu.krd
54 Srwa Jama Rashed Assistant Lecturer  Genetics
55 Mahdi Hashm Ibarahim Assistant Lecturer  Plant physiology mahdi.ibrahim@su.edu.krd
56 Fenk Sherzad Hussen Assistant Lecturer  Invertebrates
57 Trefa Salih Mohammed Assistant Lecturer  Molecular Biology
58 Twana Haseeb Abdulahad Assistant Lecturer  Animal physiology
59 Mukhlis Hamad Aali Assistant Lecturer  Molecular Biology mukhlis.aali@su.edu.krd
60 Shang Ziad Abdulqader Assistant Lecturer  Histology & Embryology shang.abdulqadir@su.edu.krd
61 Neven Nawzad Rajab Assistant Lecturer  Microbiology
62 Bnar Khalid Bakr Assistant Lecturer  Plant Taxonomy bnar.bakr@su.edu.krd
63 Khder Hussen Rasul Assistant Lecturer  Cell biology khder.rasul@su.edu.krd
64 Shahnaz Burhan Ali Assistant Lecturer  Microbiology shahnaz.ali@su.edu.krd
65 Peshraw Salih Hamadamin Assistant Lecturer  Molecular Biology peshraw.hamadamin@su.edu.krd
66 Abu-baker Sulaiman Ismael Assistant Lecturer  Virology abubaker.ismael@su.edu.krd
67 Ashraf Najeb Kako Assistant Lecturer  Immunology ashraf.kako@su.edu.krd
68 Natheer Jameel Yaseen Assistant Lecturer  Genetics natheer.yaseen@su.edu.krd
69 Fairuz Hassan Abdullah Assistant Lecturer  Molecular Biology fairuz.abdullah@su.edu.krd
70 Rozhgar Abdullah Mohammed Assistant Lecturer  Molecular Medicine rozhgar.mohammed@su.edu.krd
71 Niga Othman Hamaameen Assistant Lecturer  Microbiology niga.hamaameen@su.edu.krd
72 Nasreen Jalal Mohammedamen Assistant Lecturer  Applied Biomolecular Technology nasreen.amen@su.edu.krd
73 Ala Jalal Ahmed Assistant Lecturer  Microbiology ala.ahmed@su.edu.krd
74 Govand Musa Qader Assistant Lecturer  Genetics govand.qader@su.edu.krd
75 Shawnm Musher Maaroof Assistant Lecturer  Genetics
76 Fattma Zrar Mohammed Assistant Lecturer  Ecology fattma.mohammed@su.edu.krd
77 Darya Mohammed Azeez Assistant Lecturer  Comparative Anatomy darya.azeez@su.edu.krd

Biology Department Activities

10
1