Chemistry Department

The Department of Chemistry was first established in 1968 as part of the University of Sulaimani offering its first round of graduate in 1972. Admission to MSc studies started later in 1976. In 1981, the Department was moved to the city of Erbil, the current capital of the Iraqi Kurdistan Region to become part of College of Science in the newly established Salahaddin University. At this stage, chemistry classes were being given in conjunction to both colleges of Science and Education students until their separation in 1982. PhD degrees were started in 1992 under the administration of the Kurdish Regional Government with two graduate students in analytical and polymer chemistry. Teaching and research in the department strives to meet the current global advance in chemistry. The well experienced and dedicated staff members aim to transfer knowledge and skill to students in various branches of chemistry using the latest effective teaching and learning techniques. Since its foundation, the department played an important role in providing establishments with over 3000 BSc and over a hundred of MSc and PhD graduates actively involved in serving the community.

Chemistry Department Activities